Culture and ArtIran

Why was Tabriz Bazaar not included in the list of national collections?

Ali Asghar Monsan, Minister of Cultural Heritage

The director of the General Directorate of Museums and Historical Movable Property says that the selection of 21 national collections was done in the first experience of establishing a board of trustees for museums and historical sites, and this trend continues for all museums and historical and global monuments in the country.

On April 20, Ali Asghar Monsan, Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism and Handicrafts, announced the amendment of the Board of Trustees’ regulations for 21 national museums, which was approved in 2004.

The bylaws that allowed the safekeeping of museums, museums, and museums were handed over to the Board of Trustees, and it was announced that it would be the first step for 20 other national collections, along with a separate board of trustees set up for the National Museum of Iran. A joint board of trustees should be formed.

Of course, among the 21 selected national collections, in addition to the combination of grounds, museums, and historical monuments, both groups of national and international artifacts can be seen.

In the first reactions to the publication of this news, the East Azarbaijan Cultural Heritage Associations wrote a letter to the Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism and Handicrafts regarding the Cabinet’s disregard for the name of the world’s largest historical bazaar – Tabriz Grand Bazaar. The country’s national heritage protested.

Mohammad Reza Kargar, director-general of the General Directorate of Museums and Historical Movable Property, called the protest “impossible” because it emphasizes that “all historical monuments, sites, and museums will be covered by this law for management.”

He states: ‌ 21 national collections were selected in the first step to review and approve the executive regulations of Article 5 of the Law on the Establishment of the Cultural Heritage and Tourism Organization and were selected as the first experience in a meeting at the Ministry of Cultural Heritage. Large museums and important historical sites such as Saadabad, Niavaran, Hafezieh were to be included first, followed by sites such as Naghsh Jahan Square.

He goes on to emphasize that about 100 buildings and museums are among the most popular historical sites and museums in the country, all of which will certainly be included in the list. Historic monuments were selected, and the selected sites and museums were among the best-selling and most popular. In fact, the museums were selected long before the cabinet meeting.

“There were also buildings that were the first experience for us,” he said, noting that there were also buildings that could have different financial issues and move toward income generation. Under these circumstances, museums are not legally barred. It’s actually a new experience.

However, according to him, the timing of the implementation of this regulation is still unknown.

According to this decree, in the first step, 21 national complexes were classified in the meeting of the Supreme Council of Cultural Heritage and Tourism on December 7, 2006: “Saadabad Historical-Cultural Complex”, “Niavaran Historical-Cultural Complex”, “Golestan Palace World Heritage Site”, “National Carpet Museum of Iran”, “National Museum of Iran”, “Toos and Ferdowsi Tomb Collection of Mashhad”, “Persepolis and Pasargad World Heritage Site”, “Sassanid Archaeological World Heritage Site”, “Shiraz Memorial and Saadieh Collection” “Isfahan Imam Square Square World Heritage Site”, “Kashan Fin Garden Heritage Collection”, “Biston World Heritage Site in Kermanshah” E “,” Shushtar Water Structures ” “Bam Citadel World Heritage Site and its Cultural Landscape”, “Soltanieh Dome World Heritage Site” and “Yazd Historical City World Heritage Site”.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button